Pamlico County

USDA designates 5 coastal counties as disaster areas

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Pamlico County as a primary natural disaster area because of damages and losses caused by excessive rain and winds that occurred when Hurricane Arthur hit the North Carolina coast on July 3. Farmers and ranchers in Beaufort, Carteret, Craven and Hyde counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance […]

read more

Today’s Topic: N.C. potato growers will vote on renewing assessment program

Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler sits down each week with Southern Farm Network’s Rhonda Garrison to discuss “Today’s Topic.” Commercial growers of Irish potatoes in nine northeastern North Carolina counties will vote this month on renewing an assessment program that supports promotional and research work of the N.C. Potato Association. Official ballots will be mailed March […]

read more