Super Sippers out chug All Stars

by | Jun 12, 2019

Today legislators faced off for the 19th Annual Legislative Milk Chugging Contest between the House and Senate Agriculture committees. Teams competed to see who could chug six half pints of milk in the shortest amount of time. Winners earned a donation to the charity of their choice

The “Senate Super Sippers,” made up of Sen. W. Ted Alexander, Sen. Jim Burgin and Sen. Eddie Gallimore won the contest with a time of 1 minute and 6 seconds. They represented the N.C 4-H Foundation. The “House All Stars” team, consisting of Rep. William D. Brisson, Rep. Chris Humphrey and Rep. Larry Strickland, came in second with a time of 1 minute and 9 seconds on behalf of the N.C. FFA Foundation.

New this year was a chug-off between FFA and 4-H, before the main event. The winners of the contest were FFA members Kaleb Wilson, Daniel Toole and Max Hagamon, who chugged their milk in 1 minute and 15 seconds. The 4-H team of Cecilia Tadt, Stephen Finch and Kat Stulpin were not far behind chugging their milk in 1 minute and 16 seconds.

Milk was provided by Milkco, and Harris-Teeter provided free ice cream after the event. The event was sponsored by the N.C. Dairy Industry Promotions Committee and highlighted the states’ dairy industry. North Carolina leads the Southeast for most milk production per cow and produces more than 108 million gallons of milk annually. N.C also produces 14.9 million gallons of ice cream a year.