USDA designates 19 NC counties as primary natural disaster areas

by | Oct 22, 2015

USDA FSA logoThe U.S. Department of Agriculture designated 19 counties in North Carolina as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred from Sept. 22, 2015, through Oct. 4, 2015. Those counties are:

  • Alleghany
  • Ashe
  • Beaufort
  • Brunswick
  • Carteret
  • Columbus
  • Craven
  • Dare
  • Duplin
  • Edgecombe
  • Hyde
  • Jones
  • Martin
  • Onslow
  • Pender
  • Sampson
  • Tyrrell
  • Washington
  • Wilkes

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in North Carolina also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

  • Alexander
  • Bertie
  • Bladen
  • Caldwell
  • Camden
  • Chowan
  • Cumberland
  • Currituck
  • Halifax
  • Harnett
  • Iredell
  • Johnston
  • Lenoir
  • Nash
  • New Hanover
  • Pamlico
  • Pasquotank
  • Perquimans
  • Pitt
  • Robeson
  • Surry
  • Watauga
  • Wayne
  • Wilson
  • Yadkin

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on Oct. 21, 2015, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online.

-Information from USDA